Mission : 1000 Umbrella Challenge To Provide Shade For The Homeless….As Temps Are Moving Into The 100 Degree Mark and Can Get UpTo 119 degrees In Oklahoma

This Is How Our Mission Started. A Chat Between My Nephew Josh And I Grew Into  “Our Mission of 1000 Umbrella Challenge To Provide Shade For The Homeless”

My 13 year old nephew Josh and I were having one of our awesome talks a couple of days ago. He told me about how worried he is for this boy at his school who doesn’t have money for more than 1 peanut butter sandwich for lunch. As it turns out Josh gave this friend his lunch everyday. I asked him…. what did you eat for lunch honey…He said nothing Aunt Becky I have anything I want to eat when I get home just after 3pm. Josh then said Aunt Becky, I do not think he gets much food at all when he gets home or for dinner……Sad for this little boy but Lucky for us they have just moved home from living out of state for 10 years. We are so excited we have missed them so much. But because they moved home Josh is worried that this friend of his will not eat at lunch. He did not cry of course. during our talk, however, his eyes filled with tears that he was able to hold back somehow… Unlike me, I might add……I told him how proud I am of him and what a wonderful person he is thinking of others who are in need. I told him that when school starts up again we will check on him and send lunch money for him. And then I asked him to think of other things homeless people may need. Of course he did and we picked umbrella’s for shade during these very hot months here in Oklahoma.

The Temps will be reaching dangerous levels very soon. All of those who live on the streets now that the temps are in danger of heat strokes.  There are certain things that are needed and right away. The Shade spots are far and few in between. We do have a lot of trees but they are at risk of being arrested if it is private property So Shade and Water or Giving a burger, Sandwich, Water, Gatorade, Battery operated fans are all super fantastic.However to get into a bit of shade and being able to stay awhile is as difficult as walking from California to Boston. So It is not easy for them to seek shelter. It is a horrible situation here in Oklahoma.  Umbrellas, tents, tarps are wonderful in Oklahoma as the heat can get up to 119 and stay there for many many days.

If you have extra umbrellas that you could donate we could help a lot of homeless people and possibly save a few lives.

This Is A Wonderful Way For Us To Come Together And Show We Care

2 thoughts on “Mission : 1000 Umbrella Challenge To Provide Shade For The Homeless….As Temps Are Moving Into The 100 Degree Mark and Can Get UpTo 119 degrees In Oklahoma

Leave a Reply

